Elaine Everest

The Woolworths Girls by Elaine Everest

 

Title: The Woolworths Girls

Author: Elaine Everest

Pages: 422

Blurb: It’s 1938 and as the threat of war hangs over the country, Sarah Caselton is preparing for her new job at Woolworths. Before long, she forms a tight bond with two of her colleagues: the glamorous Maisie and shy Freda. The trio couldn’t be more different, but they immediately form a close-knit friendship, sharing their hopes and dreams for the future.

Sarah soon falls into the rhythm of her new position, enjoying the social events hosted by woolies and her blossoming romance with young assistant manager, Alan. But with the threat of war clouding the horizon, the young men and women of Woolworths realize that there are bigger battles ahead. It’s a dangerous time for the nation, and an even more perilous time to fall in love…

Publisher: Pan

untitledReview: This was a lovely read and I really enjoyed it. I love stories set in the past and around the times of the 1st and 2nd wars. I haven’t read one in a little while and this has reminded me what I am missing.

This is my first of Elaine’s book, I have been given her next novel to review before it is released and I can’t wait, it looks just as good as this novel. Elaine writes well, she makes you feel you are there in amongst all the action and her character’s feel real. The cover off the book stood out and was what at first made me pick the book up but once I had read the blurb I couldn’t wait to see what happens to the three girls.

The Woolworths Girls is about three friends who all have their own problems during this period in the war and how the family and community pulls together to help each other. It really reflects what happened during this time in our history. I loved all three girls but practically enjoyed Maisie’s journey and how she changed as a women. Sarah’s journey through the story shows just what can happen when you fall in love during the war. I love a good happy ending to a story but wont put any spoilers here, you will have to read the book to find out.

Link:  You can buy The Woolworths Girls below.

Leave a Reply

