Sue Watson, Uncategorized

Interview with Sue Watson

Interview.png

Sue at her desk

I would like to thank Sue Watson for appearing on my blog. It is a fantastic opportunity to get an insight into the workings of an author that writes amazing rom coms

Sue started as a journalist, she then became a TV producer with the BBC. When she decided she wanted to spend more time with her family she decided to write and sell her creations.  

 

What is your favourite flavour ice-cream_

  • Tell us a little about what the book is about?

Ella’s Ice Cream Summer is about a woman who is handed the opportunity to change her life through an inheritance. Though it isn’t what it seems, the inheritance takes her to Devon, and offers her the chance of a fresh start living by the sea – but she has teenage kids, an ex-husband and a sexting mother to worry about, so it isn’t going to be easy!

  • Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special?

Ella is a mum and a daughter and has, all her life been responsible for other people. This summer might just be her chance to break free and chase her own dreams instead of facilitating everyone else’s. But can she?

  • From your novel do you have a favourite character?

This is the first in a series of three novels and I am loving spending time with the characters. I love them all, but my current favourite is Roberta, Ella’s 78 year old mother, who thinks she’s internet savvy, but has a few catastrophes along the way. She’s also half-Italian but her only experience of Italian culture is The Sopranos and Mob Wives – consequently she talks like she’s in the mob.

•If you could have an ice-cream made and named after yourself what flavour would it be and what wo

  • What is your writing process?

I come up with a vague idea and develop this into a more detailed synopsis. My editor takes a look and tries to iron out any potential problems and if it’s good to go, then I’m off. I then just plough on until the book is written, using the synopsis as a guide, like having a compass on a journey. Sometimes my journey is diverted through actions and characters, but I always seem to find my way home.

  • How do you come up with your ideas?

I’m inspired by my friends, TV, magazine articles, overheard conversations, anything I come across in daily life. Love, Lies and Lemon Cake was inspired by a friend’s experience, she told me she was leaving her husband and there was no-one else on either side – she said life’s short and I have to enjoy what’s left. I really admired her courage and a book was born! 7.

  • How much research do you do?

My books aren’t research heavy but I always like to visit the places I’m writing about, or talk to people who’ve been through similar experiences. For this latest series of books (the second one Curves, Kisses and Chocolate Ice Cream is out June 27th) I spent some time in Appledore in Devon where the books are set and I talked to someone who used to work an ice cream van. For summer flings and Dancing Dreams I interviewed Flamenco dancers which was fascinating.

  • What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I LOVE writing rom coms, they are so me, but I would welcome the opportunity to one day write in a different genre. I love science fiction, so who knows?

  • What are your top 3 tips to anyone who wants to become a published writer?
  • Try not to let the rejections dampen your soul, channel your disappointment and write better.
  • Stick with it, even when you think it isn’t happening, trust me most of us have been there.
  • Write every day, even if it’s only 1,000 words, don’t get rusty.

2

Sue’s website is http://www.suewatsonbooks.com.

You can also find her on Facebook and Twitter.

Below you can buy/pre-order her books.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

