Sue Moorcroft

Interview with Sue Moorcroft

Interview

Sue Moorcroft has very kindly agreed to appear on my blog and has agreed to an interview. First I would like to say thank you Sue.

Best-selling author Sue Moorcroft writes contemporary fiction with occasionally unexpected themes. The Christmas Promise rose to #1 in the Amazon Kindle chart; The Wedding Proposal, Dream a Little Dream and Is this Love? were all nominated for Readers’ Best Romantic Read Awards and Darcie’s Dilemma for Readers’ Best Short Romance. Love & Freedom won the Best Romantic Read Award 2011 and Dream a Little Dream was nominated for a RoNA in 2013. Sue’s a Katie Fforde Bursary Award winner, a past vice chair of the RNA and editor of its two anthologies.

Sue also writes short stories, serials, articles and writing ‘how to’.

Sue’s next book: Just for the Holidays

Sue crop.jpg

Here is our interview. I hope you enjoy reading this as much as I did putting it together.

  1. What inspired you to become a writer?

It took me a while to get to grips with reading and writing but once I achieved it I just fell into the world of fiction. I love stories to read and realised that I wanted to be one of the people who wrote them. It was a while before I actively tried to get published and once I did I found it harder work than once envisaged.

2. Describe a typical day in the life of author Sue Moorcroft

If it’s a work-at-home day, as so many are, I get up at 06.30. I’m at my desk with my first cuppa by about 07.20 and use the time to answer emails and do my social media. About 08.30 I get my porridge and my second cuppa and read any newsletters etc that have come in and maybe do a bit more social media. For most of the rest of the day I do whatever the task is: writing, research, planning or promotion, with breaks to answer emails etc. Each day I take a bit of time out for myself. Monday I go to a piano lesson, Tuesday Zumba, Wednesday yoga, Thursday FitStep (although this class is sometimes the casualty of a busy schedule) and Friday is Zumba again. I do some social media from my armchair in the evening and also usually end up working at least part of each weekend. Sometimes I go to meetings or lunches such as run by the Romantic Novelists’ Association or the Freelance Media Group. These are great for networking and frequently bring me into contact with useful/interesting speakers

3. Do you have a favourite place to write?

My overcrowded and rather dusty study. I do have ‘tidy study’ on my to-do list on my wall. I tidied my desk then got fed up.

4. What is your writing process?

It varies book to book but it often consists of me making notes about characters, looking at them from different perspectives (i.e. through the eyes of various other characters in the book), working on their back stories and, crucially, their conflicts, obstacles, hopes and secrets. I do all this in handwriting. Somewhere along the line I get the urge to start to write the actual book and so I do, on the computer. However, the book I’ve just begun (scheduled for Summer 2018 and provisionally entitled The Summer of Finding Out) began speaking to me before I’d done more than think about my characters so I’ve written two scenes (not the first in the book). It’s a bit of a departure for me but I didn’t want those scenes to go out of my head.

5. Do you work to an outline or plot or do you prefer just see where an idea takes you?

Somewhere in between. I accrue a lot of information and I need to know roughly where I’m going to end up but not a chapter-by-chapter plan. I call this ‘The Compost Heap Method’. My plot comes from character, not the other way around

6. How do you come up with you ideas?

That varies from book to book, too. Just for the Holidayss was easy. A friend told me about her holiday and when I’d stopped crying with laughter I asked if I could ‘borrow’ the premise. It is only the premise – a single woman going on holiday with her sister’s family when the sister’s at a bit of a crossroads in her life – not the whole story. On other occasions, I begin thinking about something (such as medical issues or crime) and it sort of grows from there.

cover102345-medium.png7. Tell us a little about your new book

Just for the Holidays is about Leah, who has studiously avoided getting a husband and children of her own, ending up looking after her sister’s husband and children in France, where she doesn’t speak the language. Luckily, next-door is Ronan, a grounded helicopter pilot waiting for an injury to heal, and his 13-year-old Goth son. Ronan proves both a saviour and a distraction, until he gets a most unexpected and inconvenient guest.

8. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special?

Leah remembers how many times her sister has supported and stuck up for her and so supports Michele in her turn, even when calamity and secrets threaten to overwhelm her. She has a very cool job as a chocolate taster. That doesn’t mean she just munches chocolate all day – she also creates chocolate recipes and trials the recipes of others. She’s a bit of a petrolhead and loves, loves, loves being single.

9. Who designed your book cover/s?

I’m published by Avon Books UK, part of HarperCollins, and that’s their department. I love the cover, so I’m very lucky.

10. What is your favorite book and why?

A Town Like Alice by Nevil Shute. It was the first ‘adult’ book I read, when I was nine, and it blew me away. My Dad and I shared a love of Nevil Shute’s work from then on and although I no longer have my dad, I do have all the books

11. What is your favorite film and why?

I don’t watch many films so I’m going to choose something from way back: National Lampoon Animal House. I found it funny, John Belushi was brilliant in it, and it reminds me of a happy phase of my life and lovely people.

12. Which actor/actress would you like to see playing the lead character from your most recent book?

As I said, I don’t watch many movies. I’ll say Michael Fassbender for Ronan but I really don’t know for Leah. She’s just in my head as a woman with long bronde hair, single, a cool auntie, a good friend and fun to be with. Julia Roberts.

Below is where you can find more about Sue Moorcroft:

My website’s at www.suemoorcroft.com and here are my social media links:

Blog: https://suemoorcroft.wordpress.com/

Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/sue.moorcroft.3

Facebook author page: https://www.facebook.com/SueMoorcroftAuthor

Twitter @suemoorcroft

Google+: google.com/+Suemoorcroftauthor

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/suemoorcroft

Instagram: suemoorcroftauthor

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/862993.Sue_Moorcroft

Take Five Authors: https://takefiveauthors.wordpress.com

It has been an absolute pleasure to interview Sue and review her new book. I will be looking out for more from Sue Moorcroft in the future.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Interview with Sue Moorcroft”

Leave a Reply

