Paige Toon

The Last Piece of my Heart by Paige Toon

1.png

Pre-publication review:

Title: The Last Piece of my Heart

Author: Paige Toon

Blurb:  When life feels like a puzzle, sometimes it’s the small pieces that make up the bigger picture… Join Bridget on a journey to put her world back together.

A successful travel journalist, Bridget has ambitions to turn her quirky relationship blog about the missing pieces of her heart into a book. But after a spate of rejections from publishers, she accepts an alternative proposition.

Nicole Dupré died leaving behind a bestselling novel and an incomplete sequel. Tasked with finishing the book, Bridget is thankful to have her foot in the publishing door, even if it means relocating to Cornwall for the summer and answering to Nicole’s grieving husband, Charlie…

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Review: When picking up a book by Paige Toon I know I am going to get a story I can get totally lost in with characters who are funny, real and exciting. I read the first few chapters on NetGalley and was hooked, I couldn’t wait for my copy to arrive through the post so I could continue to read.

I was excited about the prospect of Bridget writing this sequel to a bestselling novel and how she would relate and connect with the author who had died. I was also very intrigued to find out more about Bridget’s blog and the reason for her putting it together, if she could complete it successfully and turn it into the book she dreams of publishing.

I was not disappointed. Once I had closed the book after reading it I was first off happy with the story and how it ended but also in the fact that Paige Toon has written another great novel. The title is very fitting for the story. I wonder if the title come from the story or if the title came first and the story second. I love Bridget and Charlie’s relationship as they get to know each other, funny, romantic, dealing with serious topics and overcoming their fears.

Paige has a way of writing such amazing stories that just flow. Her characters jump up from the page. The way she writes the romantic parts of the story makes me feel envious and hinting to my husband. They are just so powerful. Paige is able to tell so much to the reader that the characters as yet don’t know themselves but when they catch up boy is there an explosion.

Paige Toon is one of the best writers around.

Link:

 

Leave a Reply

