Best sellers of all time, chellsandbooks on tour

Best Sellers of all Time

Chellsandbooks onTour

Best Sellers of all Time

I sat wondering what the top bet sellers around the world were. On first thought I thought Harry Potter by J. K .Rowling would be among them and perhaps The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit books by J. R. R. Tolkien. The classics like Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carrol and Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. However, I was surprised.

I went to Wikipedia to do some research. I looked at the list on there for best-selling books. There were sorted into separate lists by how many millions they had sold. Starting with:

  • More than a million copies
  • Between 50 to 100 million copies
  • Between 30 to 50 million copies
  • Between 20 to 30 million copies
  •  Between 10 to 20 million copies

It then went on to list the bestselling book series in the same categorises.

I was interested to see that the book right at the top of the single selling book list was one I had not heard of before. downloadIt is called Don Quixote and is written by Miguel de Cervantes it is Spanish. Researching further into what this book is about I discover that in English the full title is The History of the valorous and wittie Knight Don-Quixote of the Mancha and it was first published in 1605. It says that it is about a knight and is made up of true stories, however in that time it was well-known that fiction stories were often said to be true. Perhaps a selling technique used back in time to make the stories sounds more interesting.

Also in the list of books that sold more than a million copies are  Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling, The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien, a novel by Agatha Christie called And Then There Were None and also Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. A great selection of books written by authors with great talent. All these books have also been turned into films. MV5BODAzMDgxMDc1MF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTI0OTAzMjE@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_

WceGgDUNlCA8RPHOz66AbHHs4RI12Vqg+OoBRGBrKx2plCphEkAr3aizNSRpuGHkIoDZcS4gLRs3LNNbucM2t8mEddFrhthiqbQDqkrYxHZQ5iDKyCBWtzAWMsmQ+7PK

This list also shows the genre of each book. Out of the 8 books most of them are fantasy. To me this shows that we like books that take us to a whole different world. Somewhere we can completely escape and where anything can happen. These books also make great films to watch hence why most of them have been turned into films.

Looking at the list for the best-selling book series on Wikipedia that have sold over a million copies took me right down memory lane and back to my childhood. The series that was on the top of the list and not much of a surprise is the Harry Potter series. The Goosebumps series is next selling more than the James Bond books, the Twilight series and the fifty shade books. I loved bringing home Goosebumps books back from school to read but I did not think that they would be second on the list. Most of these books are still selling but the list wont change around drastically unless a series has another really successful book published.

What I love is that number 6 on the list is the Sweet Valley series by Francine Pascal which I just love. I read loads of them as a teenager and I not ashamed to say that I still love them. I am hoping to get hold of some to re-read. I have also started reading the new ones out that see the twins and their friends as adults.

By studying this list I have discovered some new books and found out some interesting information. Sales on books, genres that are more popular than others and how successful some authors have been.

sweet-valley-high

 

I have enjoyed this and had fun taking a trip down memory lane.

If anyone knows where I can get hold of some of the Sweet Valley books by Francine Pascal please feel free to comment below.

Thanks x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

