Paige Toon

Interview with Paige Toon

Interview

3229_62701361_hr

This is a n interview that I am re-posting from a previous post on Chellsandbooks.

Paige Toon was born in 1975 and she grew up between England, Australia and America. A philosophy graduate, she has worked on many magazines, before ending up at Heat magazine as Reviews Editor. She us married and has two small children they all live in Cambridgeshire. Her father is also a racing car driver.

Paige is one of my favourite authors, She writes romance novels with a real modern-day feel to them. She kindly agreed to take some time to answer some questions for my blog. Thank you Paige it means a lot to a big fan and also I am hoping it will inspire others.

  1.  What inspired you to become a writer?

I don’t remember because I’ve wanted to write ever since I can remember!

  1. Describe a typical day in the life of author Paige Toon?

Once the kids are at school, I catch up with social media, which can take an hour or two and any other emails or work things I need to deal with. Finally, usually after lunch, I have time to write. My best work usually takes place about an hour before school ends, which can be a little frustrating!

  1. Do you have a favourite place to write?

I work upstairs in a tiny office with a beautiful view over the fields at the back of my house. It has to be clean and tidy or I can’t focus!

  1. What is your writing process?

So far I have always got the idea for a book when I’ve been writing the one before, so I have a fair few months to mull it over before I start writing. My publisher needs a synopsis so everyone on the team is familiar with my plot idea, but it’s actually a really good thing to do to help you finesse your idea.

  1. How do you come up with you ideas?

They come to me out of nowhere. For example, Adele’s Someone Like You gave me the idea for One Perfect Summer, a book about a boy who can’t stop thinking about the girl he knew before he became famous. This is Alice, and I tell the story from her point of view.

  1. From your novels do you have a favourite character?

I don’t because I love each and every one of them – they feel so real when I’m inside their heads, imagining what they’re doing and what they’re thinking or feeling. If you pushed me, I might say Lucy because she was my first and I was so happy to have a book deal and writing about someone who was also caught between two countries: England and Australia.

  1. Writers block, how do you cope with this when and if it happens?

Walking helps. I listen to music and let my mind wander. Eventually the characters start up conversations between themselves again!

  1. Finally, what are your top 3 tips to anyone who wants to become a published writer?

Consider journalism as a stepping stone – for a start, it’s usually great fun but it’s easier to be taken seriously if you’re already a working writer. Always write what you want and not what you think you should – if you feel connected, you’ll always have an audience who feels connected too. Grab yourself a copy of the latest edition of The Writers’ & Artist’s Yearbook – there are loads of handy tips in there!

Paige Toon’s new book is out now: Only £2.99 below

Leave a Reply

