Anne Ostby, Uncategorized

Pieces of Happiness by Anne Ostby

Reviews heading (4)

Pre-published review.

Title: Pieces of Happiness

Author: Anne Ostby

Blurb: I’ve planted my feet on Fijian earth and I intend to stay here until the last sunset . Why don’t you join me? Leave behind everything that didn’t work out! 

When recently-widowed Kat writes to her four old school friends, inviting them to live with her on a cocoa plantation in the South Pacific, they swap icy pavements and TV dinners for a tropical breeze and an azure-blue ocean. Leaving behind loneliness, dead-end jobs and marriages that have gone sour, they settle into the Women’s House, surrounded by palms and cocoa trees; and locals with the puzzling habit of exploding into laughter for no discernible reason. 

Each of the women has her issues to resolve, and secrets to keep. But together the friends find a new purpose, starting a business making chocolate: bittersweet, succulent pieces of happiness. As they embrace a new culture that views ageing so differently from their own, will they learn to accept and forgive: to discover the value of friendship, and a better way to live?

Publisher: Double Day

Review: When Poppy Stimpson asked me to review this I said yes straight away. The cover is so beautiful and really stands out. It is perfect for a book released in the summer. On reading the blurb I wanted to find out more about these women, why they decided to change their lives and if their business venture succeeded. It is not normally the type of book I would usually read. I am so glad I got to review this book it is wonderful and had really changed my view of some things in my life.  So thank you Poppy and to Anne for writing the book.

I loved this book. I got totally lost in the journeys that all the women were going through and reading about what had led them up to moving to Fiji.

This book is so brilliantly written. Each chapter is headed with the name of one of the women and is written from their own view points. In between there is a prayer from a women who works at the plantation and from this you get to hear her views on the women and live at the plantation. Lot’s of different perspectives but it works and the story is better for it. I felt more connected to the characters and their stories.

I took this book to the beach and sat in the sand with the waves washing up on shore, seagulls swooping above and the heat beating down and it felt like I really was there in Fiji with these women. I really did not want this book to end but I finished it while at the beach and so just laid back and dreamed about Fiji afterwards.

I highly recommend this book. It makes you evaluate what is important in life and to take time out an relax. It truly is full of friendship, hope and chocolate.

Link:

 

Leave a Reply

