Summer at Conwenna Cove by Darcie Boleyn

Reviews heading (9)

Pre-publication review:

Title: Summer at Conwenna Cove

Author: Darcie Boleyn

Blurb: In a gorgeous Cornish village, two brokenhearted people fall head over heels. But can the magic of Conwenna Cove heal the hurts of the past? A feel-good summer romance perfect for fans of Holly Martin, Phillipa Ashley and Jenny Hale.

Eve has a glittering career, a loving husband and a future. But a terrible twist of fate means she loses it all, and with nowhere left to turn she flees to her Aunt Mary’s home in Cornwall. The last thing on her mind is romance – until she meets Jack.

Jack has seen the worst things people can do to each other and realised he is better off alone. He settles in Conwenna Cove, and saves his affections for the rescue dogs he cares for. But when Eve arrives in the village he can’t deny his attraction to her.

Eve and Jack are both scared to trust, but when they come together it’s impossible for either to ignore their feelings. Can they put their fears aside and learn to love again?

Summer at Conwenna Cove is an emotional and heart-warming holiday read about being brave enough to take a chance on love.

Publisher: Canelo

Review: This was a first for me and Darcie Boleyn did not disappoint. I was totally lost in Conwenna Cove, so much so in fact I have read Christmas at Conwenna Cove too. I was also lucky to get a pre-publication copy from Canelo. I am part of the blog tour so will be posting me review for Christmas at Conwenna Cove on the 19th October.

This book has a feel of a Sarah Morgan book there are however a few differences that really add to the book.

Eve and Jack our main characters have emotional issues from their pasts. Darcie has written about them so well that you instantly feel connected with the characters and their stories. It has a real positive feel to the story and is very relatable. It made me stop and think about a few things in my life.

The characters are great but as for the setting there is one word to describe it and that is magical. From the place Cornwall with its beautiful beaches and cliffs, to the quant shops and friendly residents it is a place that feels so real in the pages of this book. Conwenna Cove is as much a part of the story as the characters are even more so.

I can’t praise this book enough.

I will defiantly be returning to Conwenna Cove again and again.

Link:

 

Advertisements

Fabulous Night In with Paige Toon, Lindsey Kelk and Louise Pentland.

Fabulous Night In.png

 

 

IMG_20170913_181155I still cant believe this has happened. When I saw this advertised I just had to go. A night in with three great authors. I love Lindsey Kelk’s books, I have a crush on Paige Toon her books are some of my favourite and it was lovely to met Louise Pentland and get to know more about her and her first bookIMG_20170913_170755.jpg.

The evening was set in Camden Market in London in an amazing place called Proud Camden. The building was beautiful. Horse stables converted into a club. This was my first time in this area of London so my husband and I spent some of the day exploring before the event in the evening. I was lucky enough to meet Lindsey Kelk and Louise Pentland on the way to the venue in Camden Market. Louise was very excited about all the glittering lights. Everyone needs a little of Louise in their lives.IMG_20170913_180659

IMG_20170913_182653.jpgThe stage was set with four red chairs, ready for the authors to be interviewed. It was all very exciting. Champagne or orange juice on arrival and canapés. As every one gathered and took their seats you could feel the atmosphere building. There was a lot of people there to see Lindsey Kelk who was over from sunny LA, trying not to be jealous here. The chatter was all about her and her I heart series. I love her books but I was a little more excited to see Paige Toon myself.

The organises from Harper Collins and from Proud Camden ran the event brilliantly. Waterstones were there selling the authors books too.

IMG_20170913_191255.jpgAs the authors entered the room and took their places on stage an almighty cheer went up. Each author was introduced to more cheers and applauding. The interview was great, so funny with the audience in stitches at points. Louise Pentland is hilarious. Her comment about writing and loving being a puppet master having control and killing people off whenever you can made everyone laugh. It was great to hear about their books, advice about writing and little bits about their life’s, they all have cats.

After the floor was opened for questions it was then time to meet the three lovely ladies and get books signed. That was by far the best bit.

IMG_20170913_211554.jpg I loved meeting Louise after getting to know her through the interview and hearing about her book and I am so excited about reading it. She signed my book from the puppet master to lol.

When I met Lindsey Kelk I got a little over excited and I think I repeatedly told her to keep doing what she’s doing and that she is great. IMG-20170914-WA0009.jpg

As for meeting Paige Toon, well what can I say it was magical. I got to thank her for kindly doing an interview for my blog and got my proof copy signed. She is such a lovely person and I will defiantly be keeping my eye out for another event with her. I adore all her books.

IMG_20170913_212950.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

I had such a fabulous time. Looking forward to the next event.

 

Here are the links to all of their latest books.

 

 

 

Summer at Bluebell Bank by Jen Mouat

Reviews heading (9).pngTitle: Summer at Bluebell Bank

Author: Jen Mouat

Blurb: Returning home is never smooth sailing . . .

Summoned by her childhood best friend, Kate Vincent doesn’t stop to think, instead she books a one-way ticket from New York back to Wigtown, Scotland and leaves her glittering new life behind. Scenes of idyllic holidays at Bluebell Bank with the Cotton family dance in her mind, but not everything has stayed the way it once was . . . Especially when her first love, Luke, returns to town, too.

Emily Cotton never expected one email, sent off in a wine-fuelled daze, to bring her old friend barrelling through the front door of her dismally failing bookshop. But life for the Cottons isn’t how it once was, Emily’s brothers are hardly speaking, her beloved grandmother isn’t quite the same and Emily . . . well, Emily is the one most in need of Kate’s help.

Kate has given herself until the end of the summer to stay in Wigtown. Can she bring the Cottons back together, and save the family who once saved her?

Publisher: Harper Collins UK

Review: This was a delightful book and I really enjoyed it.

Kate and Emily are our heroines. I can relate to both of them in different ways which I liked. Life for these women has changed but neither realises how much and what each other can do for each other. It’s a typically example of out of sight out of mind and thinking it will all be the same when they return.

The characters are really strong in this book and real. The story is full of family struggles as well as good times, romance and hope.

The cover of this book is bright and colourful and has summer written all over it. Also the fact that it is set in a bookshop enticed me as well.

Having never read a book by Jen before I didn’t no what to expect but I was not disappointed.

This is one to read.

Link:

Book Spotlight for The Girls of Mulberry Lane

Book Spotlight

Title: The Girls of Mulberry Lane

Author Name: Rosie Clark

Previous Books:

Image result for rosie clarke booksImage result for rosie clarke books

 

 

 

Genre: Family Saga

Release Date: 1st August 2017

Publisher: Aria

Cover Image:

Book Blurb:The Girls of Mulberry Lane - jacket

Love, marriage, birth, death and betrayal make up life in Mulberry Lane, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Cathy Sharp.

Maureen Jackson is a prisoner of her father’s blackmail. Three years ago, she’d been hoping to marry Rory, the man of her dreams. However after her mother’s death Maureen was left to care and work for the overbearing father who claimed he couldn’t manage without her. Now Rory is back in London with a pregnant wife in tow and reminds Maureen of the life that should have been hers.

Janet Ashley is the daughter of Peggy and Laurence, landlords of the local pub The Dog and Pheasant on Mulberry Lane. With the war looming, Janethopes to marry her sweetheart Mike, but her father refuses to grant them his blessing. Going against his wishes Janet finds herself pregnant and Peggyis determined to hold her family together at all costs.

The Girls of Mulberry Lane is the first in a series set in London’s East End during WW2.

 

Links:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2um5o8l

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2ud4JWp

iBooks: http://apple.co/2tM4VL1

Google Play: http://bit.ly/2tPz3U9

Author Bio: Rosie Clarke was born in Swindon, but moved to Ely in Cambridgeshire at the age of nine. She started writing in 1976, combining this with helping her husband run his antiques shop. In 2004, Rosie was the well-deserved winner of the RNA Romance Award and the Betty Neels Trophy. Rosie also writes as Anne Herries and Cathy Sharp.

Find out more at her website: http://www.rosieclarke.co.uk

Author Social Media:

Website: www.ariafiction.com

Facebook: @ariafiction

Twitter: @aria_fiction

Instagram: @ariafiction

NetGalley: http://bit.ly/2lkKB0e

Sign up to the Aria newsletter: http://bit.ly/2jQxVtV

 

Book of the month August 17

Book of the Month - Copy

I had many books I could have chosen from this month. I have re-read the first three Harry Potter books which are amazing and have read a book about Princess Diana but this book by Danielle Steel stood out.

download

Rushing Waters by Danielle Steel is my book of the month for August 17. I enjoy watching films about natural disasters. Not because of all the misery is course but the fascination with nature. Once I had read the blurb I was hooked. I have read some of Danielle Steel’s other books so new it should be a good read. I was not disappointed. I loved it.

There are a few main characters which the story follows through and after the hurricane disaster. It didn’t confuse and was easy to remember who was who. A great talent for a writer to have. I loved the mother and daughter relationship in this book, but my favourite character had to be Juliette Dubois an ER Doctor.

This book makes you think about all the life changing events happening in the world right now and I am sending a pray to everyone.